North Queensland Khanacross Championships 2016

A four round Khanacross series open to competitors
of affiliated North Queensland motorsport clubs

2017 Current Out Right Results 


 Provisional Results round one       
 Name Club Class Round 1 Round 2 Round 3  Total
 Rowan Trewick FNQMS D 10 1   11
 Tim Hall WSCC C 9 8  17
 Peter McPhee WSCC C 8 2   10
 Heath Barry DSMSA A-J 7 9   16
 Steven Van der Brug FNQMS D 6 2   8
 Adrian McPheeWSCC C 5 0   5
 Jody MortonWSCC B 4 0   4
 Andrew HornFNQMS B 3 4    7
 Lance MelroseFNQMS B-L 2 0   2
 Rick RanscombeFNQMS C 2 7   9
 John SuttonWSCC D 2 3   5
 Debra MelroseFNQMS B 2 0   2
 Kevin DuroseFNQMS C 2 10   12
 Kym Hall WSCC B-L 2 6   8
 Shane North DSMSA B 2 5   7
 Dave Page FNQMS C 2 0   2
 Tas Taylor WSCC C 2 2   4
 Mark Horder WSCC D 2 2   4
 Cameron Clarke WSCC C 2 0   2
 Kara North DSMSAB-L  2 2   4
 Tony Cristaudo FNQMS B 2 0   2
 Geoff Nicol TCCC C 2 2   4
 Kylie Portelli  FNQMS B-L 2 2   4
 Shane Buchanan FNQMS D 2 2   4

Graeme Colls 

FNQMS  G-awd 10    

Event Round up

Round 2. Held at Rally Sport Park Mareeba, west of Cairns lived up to it's reputation of being dry. Well mostly dry with some very light persipatation  falling late Saturday afternoon and over night. Nothing like the rain on other parts of the tablelands and not enough to dampen the racing and certainly not the dust.

A total of Twenty Nine drivers lined up including Seventeen series competitors, some traveling over 900km one-way to attended what has become a very friendly series filled with laughs and mate-ship. Last years winner, Andrew Horn started with a flurry setting the first two fastest times closely followed by last event winner Rowan Trewick. Andrews competitive run ended when his Corollas engine knocking foretold of imminent doom. Local driver crocodile Kevin, in his new Pulsar put in a faultless driving display setting 8 fastest times out of the 21 runs for the weekend. Rowan stayed in touch with the leaders until he made two wrong directions and then failed to start the last four runs. Junior driver Heath Barry didn't place a wheel wrong all weekend and that showed in the final results. Mark Horder's Soarer didn't handle some of Mareeba's rougher sections, ripping the inter-cooler piping from its mount. He managed to repair the damage and continue until finishing the event in the club car. Steve Van der Brug, acting as Assistant Clerk of the Course for the first time, hit a tree on run three in his 570SX but managed to continue for the rest of the event. 

The FNQ club put on a spectacular dinner for the racers and family Saturday night. Lots of club members brought a dish of food, including some of the Mossman club members. It was all organised by Kylie and when it was all put together it was fabulous, as was the breakfast cooked by the Thompson family on Sunday morning. 

The tracks deteriorated on Sunday with some very loose sections challenging the drivers and cars for grip and the ultimate racing line. At the end of the weekend when the dust settled the leader board has some surprising results with two rounds completed and the final at Mossman Tim Hall from Whit Sundays has jumped to the lead closely followed by Junior Heath and at least 3 other possible out right contenders.

Results for round 2. 1st Outright Kevin Durose 21:17.38   2nd Heath Barry 21:34.77   3rd Tim Hall 21:45.72                1st Ladies Kym Hall   1st Junior Heath Barry



ROUND 1. Was held at the whit Sundays Tonker Park 10 Km south of Proserpine on the May Day long weekend. 25 Series competitors battled though changing conditions along with 15 non series competitors to see one of the largest fields of 40 drivers compete over the two day event. The event ran smoothly through out Saturday with no car damage or retirees. Local track knowledge helped Tim Hall set the early pace after lap one. Rowan adjusted his tyre pressures and was hardly headed all day by most of the field but finishing less then a second faster then Greame Colls in his AWD Subaru and Tim Hall only nine one hundredth of a second behind. Junior, Heath Barry in the mighty Micra was a further 6 seconds behind placed in fourth. After him it was daylight but some very close completion rounded out the top ten. 

Sunday morning the starting garages were lined up side by side for the two tracks. This proved popular at last years event and this year was no exception. The first run all drivers had to contend with the wet conditions, with the inside track proving very slippery in places as a few drivers found out as they skidded into the tyres or of the track. The early runners had the worst of the conditions which reflected in the times. The drizzle abated and the track gripped up nicely as the second run started. By the third run dust prevailed again as drivers had the opportunity to elect whom they wish to run against. The spectators were in for a treat as big V8s lined up against each other but the high light was the closely matched Celica of Rowan lined up against the small mighty Micra driven by junior competitor Heath. The turbo monster class D Celica only inched away from the micra down the straight and was slightly ahead at the braking duel into the garage for both runs. 

Well done to Rowan winning outright 1st. Tim out right 2nd and Peter for out right 3rd. 1st Ladies Deb closely followed by Kym and 3rd Kara. 1st Juniors Heath 2nd Jody  Greame winning out right 1st in AWD